Plato announces new mayoral committee

Mayor of Cape Town Dan Plato announced his 11 Mayco members that will be working with him. Picture:Phando Jikelo/African News Agency(ANA)
Cape Town executive mayor Dan Plato yesterday revealed the new mayoral committee (Mayco).

The new members include Ian Neilson as deputy mayor, James Vos for assets and facilities,Sharon Cottle for corporate services, Marian Nieuwoudt for finance, while Xanthea Limberg keeps her position at informal settlements, water and waste services and energy. 

JP Smith also remains at social services, safety and security, while Felicity Purchase takes over at transport and urban development authority following Brett Herron’s resignation.

Phindile Maxiti will serve area east, Zahid Badroodien will focus on area south, Malusi Booi is at area central and Grant Twigg at area north.

The mayor said the new Mayco is united, diverse and energised.

“The members I have chosen to serve on this committee have demonstrated their ability to carry out their duties with excellence, their commitment to work together as a united council, and their passion to serve the people of this city,” said Mr Plato.

He also promised effective service.

“The residents of and the visitors to Cape Town deserve a well-run, corruption free, and focused City administration that is geared towards providing effective and efficient service delivery for all,” he said.

He also thanked the former Mayco members for their service.