Ratepayers elect new committee

Around 60 Summer Greens residents attended the public meeting.

Around 40 Summer Greens residents and Ward 4 councillor Wandisile Ngeyi attended the special annual general meeting on Thursday at the community hall.

The previous committee was not available for re-election and new positions had to be filled.

Previous chairperson Bridgette Lloyd had resigned, citing personal reasons.

The meeting also approved changes to the association’s constitution, limiting committee members’ terms of office from three years to one. Mr Ngeyi told the meeting that R150 000 had been set aside for a fence to close off the N7 strip of land behind the community hall; and both the Summer Greens and Milnerton Ridge neighbourhood watches would get new gear, including radios and bicycles.

The association’s new chairman is Gary Jacobs, who also serves on the neighbourhood watch.

Other committee members are Vincent Alexander (deputy chairman), Edgar Wright (secretary), Lungisa Haai (projects manager), Steven Stenekamp (safety and security), Shannon Lawrence (marketing and PR), Morne Avenant (treasurer) and Trymore Hove (vice treasurer).

“There’s a lot of work that needs to be done, but I trust the relationships we have with the residents, the neighbourhood watch and the councillor. Working together, we can better our community,” Mr Jacobs said.