School of the new South Africa

Bloubergrant High School opened its doors on Monday January 12 2006, and it was officially opened on Wednesday January 14 of that year by then Western Cape Education MEC Cameron Dugmore and Premier Ebrahim Rasool, together with various dignitaries.

Mr Rasool noted that Bloubergrant High was truly a school of the new South Africa, a school without any baggage, being neither a township school nor a former Model-C school.

The school was established with five staff: George Kroneberg, the school’s caretaker-principal; Dr Ruan Kleynscheldt and Malcolm Pedro, the heads of department and teachers Tersia Pedro and Marina Jacobs.

On July 1 2006, Denver Walbrugh became the school’s first permanently-appointed principal.

Malcolm Pedro took over as principal on April 1 2016, and Ashley Felix was appointed deputy principal on October 1 of that year.

When the school opened pened, it had 111 Grade 8 and 72 Grade 9 pupils. Today the school has 607 pupils – 297 boys and 310 girls.