Voters paint the City blue

Bothasig residents Natasha Abrahams, Michaila Volkwyn and Ashley Abrahams after voting.

The DA swept to a resounding victory in Cape Town in last week’s local government poll, but while the blue wave shored up support in its Blaauwberg bastion, it broke at Dunoon, a traditionally ANC enclave that continues to fly the black, green and gold.

With voter registration in the Western Cape passing the three-million mark for the first time, the introduction of a new ward, the departure of two councillors and the surprise return of a disgraced one as an independent candidate, and all of this taking place on a national political stage fraught with tension and bitter squabbling, this proved to be a gripping political contest.

In Ward 4, where 9 265 of the 15 425 registered voters cast their ballots, the DA swopped Dr Joy McCarthy with newcomer Tando Jafta, who secured 63.7 percent of the vote.

Dr Joy McCarthy now heads Ward 113 (Flamingo Vlei, Sunridge, West Riding, Killarney Gardens) where the DA made a clean sweep with 90.94 percent of the votes. Of the 15 805 registered voters, 11 661 cast their ballots.

Helen Carstens secured a second term in Ward 5 (Bothasig and Edgemead) with 95.61 percent of the vote.

In Tabletalk’s distribution area, the ward had the highest voter turn-out, with 14 153 of the 18 014 registered voters there making their mark.

Ms Carstens said on Facebook: “Thank you, Bothasig and Edgemead, it is with much pride and a modest heart that I serve as your councillor for the next term.

“The 96 percent mandate lets me go forward with confidence and strength, and I look forward to working with you to make Bothasig and Edgemead the two best suburbs!”

The DA retained power in Ward 23 (Bloubergstrand, Melkbosstrand and Duynefontein) where Nora Grose will be serving as councillor for a second term.

She received 93.09 percent of the vote, with 13 235 of the 17 821 registered voters casting their ballots.

Marissa Jansen van Vuuren, the former Ward 23 councillor who was sacked for misconduct by the DA in 2014 only to return as an independent candidate this year, did not receive much support, managing to bag only 22 votes.

The retirement of Ward 55 councillor Bernadette le Roux has seen DA newcomer Fabian Ah-Sing take up the reins in her place.

With a 91.96 percent win in a ward where 13 235 of the 17 821 registered voters cast their ballots, Mr Ah-Sing said much of his success was due to his campaign team’s hard work.

“I humbly thank all those who have contributed to the DA’s campaign in Ward 55. Your support and hard work has made this amazing achievement possible. To my campaign team, your dedication and hard work is a shining example of the DA difference.”

Ward 55 includes Century City residential, Sanddrift, parts of Marconi Beam, parts of Milnerton South, Milnerton Coastal Development, Rugby, Brooklyn, Ysterplaat and Tygerhof.

But Ward 104 (Dunoon and Doornbach) proved a no-go area for the DA victory wagon.

As with the previous elections, in 2011, the ward had the lowest voter turn-out in Blaauwberg, with 50.94 percent of the 16 530 registered voters going to the polls.

However, ANC councillor Lubabalo Makeleni saw off feeble challenges from the EFF and the DA to hold onto the ward with a 70.74 percent win.

“Despite the ANC having problems at a national level, we did very well. It is going to be difficult for the DA to get more votes because they don’t appeal to our people. Their votes are down compared to the last election.

“The EFF’s votes were disappointing as well. We thought we were going to have a battle because of the way they were campaigning in the months running up to the election, but they didn’t manage much either,” said Mr Makeleni.

The EFF, who are contesting municipal elections for the first time, received 1 232 votes, beating the DA which only received 806 votes.

In Ward 107 (Parklands, sections of Table View and Sunningdale) Leon Alhadeff, the former chairman of the Table View Ratepayers’ Association (TVRA) who contested the ward for the ACDP, lost against DA newcomer Nicky Rheeder who received 88.43 percent of the vote, with 11 968 of the 16 711 registered voters going to the polls.

The ACDP received 469 votes and were also surpassed by newcomers EFF who received 630 votes.