Writers recognised for creativity and commitment

The winning writers are, from left, Maryke de Wit, Marianna Pieterse, Roy Cheek, Dawn Rae, and Samantha Wallace.

The West Coast Writers Circle (WCWC) celebrated their annual winners at their last meeting of the year in Milnerton, on Saturday November 16. With a Christmas theme and good food, fun was had by all and winners received recognition for their commitment and creativity. For internal writing submissions, the winners were Samantha Wallace, Dawn Rae, Roy Cheek, Barry Ger, Maryke de Witt and Marianna Pieterse. For external writing submissions, the winners were Dawn Rae, Barry Ger and Mariana Pieterse. For their annual fiction contest, the winners were: first place; Janice Gardiner Atkinson, second place; Dawn Rae, and third place; Stefan Schutte. New member Luke Duffield came fourth.

In the fiction category Janice Gardiner Atkinson, Stefan Schutte, and Dawn Rae were the top three winners.
Roy Cheek entertained the group with some of his story songs